Last Chapter
Next Chapter
Today's Story
Table of Contents

Profile
Fans

Leave A Note
Send An Email

Host
Image

The Watch
2005-03-05 / 5:03 p.m.


Last but not least in my boggling mind explosion is the case of Chad's missing watch. Chad is my middle son and lord knows he has a way of irratating people beyond belief but he's not a bad kid; just a pain in the ass. I love him and he knows it.
So remember the Georgia trip? We went south with friends back in December and I swear the antics this has caused should become a poster for why not to take vacations with friends. Chad loaned his watch to the couples youngest boy. Mistake number one. Supposedly the watch was lost in Georgia and left behind never to be seen again. Grandpa, the bearer of the gift watch, was upset to say the least.
Apparently, Chad caught a glimpse of what he thought was his watch a couple times and when he approached this kid about it the watch disappeared again. When he spoke up about it the watch was no where to be found so of course Chad was deemed the trouble maker again.
This boy had a birthday recently and wouldn't you know that he was "given" an identical watch to the one he lost of Chad's. Hmmmm. It was a gift from "mom" except mom didn't know anything about it. Hmmmm. When his mom asked him about it it was a gift from another friend. Hmmmm.
So Chad and him got into an argument about this watch. His mom took the watch for me to look at. I knew it was Chad's watch but in order to prove it I had to get his brother's watch and tell her it was identical except for the face. I got the watch back, she wasn't going to give it to me. I said "Look, what are the chances that this other kid drove into town, went into the store where Chad's grandfather works, bought an identical watch (which was a limited edition and the maker is not one that services Wal-mart or similar stores) and gave it to J*" She shrugged. Give me a break people PLEASE!
I realize you don't want to say that your son took the watch but if she doesn't get a reality check she's going to end up with bigger problems than a stolen watch. This kid has a history and everyone can see it but her. Anyway I did get the watch back and gave it back to Chad. She didn't tell her son so the next day my kid is getting ganged up on by J*'s older sisters and being called a f* thief and a Motherf*. Nice huh?
I've always tried to let my kids chose their friends and now I am having to "guide" them into other situations away from them without being too much of an ogre. Am I doing the right thing?
Anyway, tension is up between the kids mom and myself which isn't a good scenario since I have to work with her but I just couldn't justify letting the watch thing slide. Chad gets himself into enough crap. If I don't teach him to stick up for himself now he never will and he will let people walk over him just like they do me. I don't want that. If I can't be a leader I will be a teacher. Unfortunately do as I say not as I do doesn't always work.
Okay I think I am done posting for one day. Homework is done and I have an auction shortly.
I just have one question.... Where the hell is the instruction book that tells you if you are raising your kids right?
I believe it was Javan who wrote that life gives you the canvas, it is up to you to make it a masterpiece instead of just another painting.

1 comments so far


The Last Chapter / The Next Chapter

Missed A Page?
Been Awhile - 2005-04-16
Your Stupid - 2005-04-06
The haze - 2005-04-05
YMCA Visit - 2005-03-14
And so I begin - 2005-03-13