Last Chapter
Next Chapter
Today's Story
Table of Contents

Profile
Fans

Leave A Note
Send An Email

Host
Image

YMCA Visit
2005-03-14 / 10:29 a.m.


Day one of the YMCA.
It was an experience. First and foremost, I forgot my water. I won't be doing that again!
I actually feel pretty good but I do fill it.
First I jumped on some kind of glider thing. OMG! Two minutes and my heart was like "If you don't stop... I will" and it killed my knees so listening to my body I got off slightly embarrassed at my two minute work out but no one seemed to care around me so I headed for the treadmill.
I pushed "Quick start" to get it moving just trying to look like I belonged there. SLOOOOOOOW. I thought, 'who in hell walks this slow' so I spent the next few minutes trying to figure out how to speed it back up. Success at last and I kept it at a speed that was making me sweat without making my heart pound out of my chest. I think my heart rate stayed around 109 so I think I was doing alright. It has been so long even that is a quess. I did last thirty minutes on that at a disappointing mile and a half but hey its a start right? So being macho I hopped off the treadmill thinking that if I kept walking forward my legs weren't going to quite feel like jello. HAHAHA - who was I freakin kidding? Baby steps, that's how I got out of the room.
I walked the three feet to the banister thankful I didn't fall on my ass. I walked the five feet out of the room and leaned against the wall until I could balance and then down the hall to the stairs. The weight room trainer watched me as I stared down the stairs and I finally explained it was the first time on the treadmill in a VERY long time and I didn't want my first step to be my last.
She smiled and reminded me to bring my water and I could check downstairs to see if they had an extra bottle. I thanked her and joked that that would require me being able to GET DOWN the stairs. So I hung out watching my friends play "racquetball" which was more like - who can just hit the ball.
I then wandered down to join them and hit the ball around. It was fun and sweaty and well just fun because we weren't playing by the rules.
I survived my first diet day yesterday. It wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. Today is also on a good start. I'm anxious to jump on the scale but I know better. Next Sunday will be here soon enough to put this week to the test.

1 comments so far


The Last Chapter / The Next Chapter

Missed A Page?
Been Awhile - 2005-04-16
Your Stupid - 2005-04-06
The haze - 2005-04-05
YMCA Visit - 2005-03-14
And so I begin - 2005-03-13