Last Chapter
Next Chapter
Today's Story
Table of Contents

Profile
Fans

Leave A Note
Send An Email

Host
Image

Chad's Blue Laverne
2004-12-03 / 10:34 a.m.


Sometimes the reality of being a parents really bites. I wonder now how much my parents, well my mom anyways, really sacrificed because I wanted something. I know as parents we sacrifice things. Most of the time it is just a given; you do it because you just do.
I asked the kids the other day what they wanted for Christmas. Blaine said something to build, I'm still working on what that might be but I think he'll be happy that he got the gun he wanted but thinks was sold to someone else. Of course all of them said Gameboy's SP - not happening though I may get Joseph his own gameboy so he doesn't have to fight his brother's to use one. I'll probably pick up some games at one of the trade in shops. They'll be happy. Chad, well he wanted a mini bike and the SP.
The next day he comes to me and tells me he'll forego all his gifts if he can just have a guitar. Alright I suppose every kid at some time wants a guitar but Chad already tinkers with the piano, the violin, the traditional recorder, the trumpet, and a bass baritone (which I've been told looks like a mini tuba - he plays it in band at school). Anyone want to take a guess what happened to the drum I had on layaway? It was the only way I could do it. So on Christmas Chad will be the new owner of a blue acustic guitar with a 1 year trade in right should he decide to go with an electric guitar later on.
How do I feel? Like crap. I am glad I was able to get him what he wanted but still I would have liked to have had my drum. I did notice he has come down on some of his prices though and I will just start over. However, I will take M's advice and get a smaller drum first. They had several dumbas (I think I spelled that right) but none that jumped out and said "own me". Chad has been working with me on learning to play the drums as well so maybe I will just forego the djumbe for now and invest in a couple more dumbas and teach all my boys. At least that way I can have someone to play with. With what I make at the auctions I could probably buy a couple within the month. I know it will be fine. I still have the drum I've been playing but I need to find someplace to tighten the head. I think it has to be restretched. It vibrates a little too much I think.
Overall, I know that I have skills but Chad has talent. I think he could go places and I want him to have every opportunity to do it. Besides - after he is a rich and famous musician I have a standing order for my own house and a new car! ;)

0 comments so far


The Last Chapter / The Next Chapter

Missed A Page?
Been Awhile - 2005-04-16
Your Stupid - 2005-04-06
The haze - 2005-04-05
YMCA Visit - 2005-03-14
And so I begin - 2005-03-13