Last Chapter
Next Chapter
Today's Story
Table of Contents

Profile
Fans

Leave A Note
Send An Email

Host
Image

Bellyaching
2004-08-18 / 8:49 a.m.


Have you ever been so torn in situations that it drove you crazy? For example, I so want some alone time, time for my music, time for a bubble bath, time for some writing time and yet when the kids are gone and sean is gone I feel like I should be doing something constructive. Cleaning and unpacking comes to mind.

I cannot seem to get it done. I know, moving is such a long drawn out process anyways but this time has been so different.

Admittedly I have enjoyed the company of a new friend. It isn't someone I expected I could be friends with but it has turned out to be quite nice. In fact, it has become a running joke that on saturday I cook and sunday she cooks and you know... it has been really nice! She has a large family to feed and I know that it can be a pain in the ass to constantly have kids bellowing at her heels. So the trading of the meals is becoming tradition and a new bond has been established. I only hope it isn't a wolf in sheeps clothing. Doesn't it stink that life's experiences won't allow me to take something at face value any more?

I took my kids to the doctor's yesterday. Chad's asthma has kicked into overdrive with the coming of fall and this old house so we are back on a steroid through the winter to keep it under control. I know steroid's are a horrible thing but watching my son cry in pain with a collapsed lung wasn't a picnic either. Since he has been 2, he has been hospitalized every year except 1. I can't deprive him of the open airway so we take the steroids. I do believe the statement that steroids stunt your growth though because he is a serious short little shit. But I love the freckles and his personality makes him larger than life.

Blaine has spent the summer with a perpetual stomach ache. I have taken him and first it was the flu, then it was lactose intolerant and yesterday, yesterday I was told my eldest son has an ulcer. Great, what is that saying about my parenting. I told SO last night that perhaps we needed to lay off the expectations, after all he is a kid. The doc did say it was most likely caused by erratic eating habits with our summer long move but in the back of my head I still wonder if we don't but undo pressure on him with him being the eldest.

I also know that we keep a tighter reign on our kids over everyone we know and all of them have tested the limits of pushing me lately. Yesterday was a good example. God love him, if he openend his mouth one more time I would have slapped it. His "friends" talk to their mother's like they are doormats and well... I'm just not going to do that. We have always had an open relationship, always talk, always play, and always have a little flexibility with rules. Calling mom a bitch is not flexible and he didn't think I heard him, I did. And what did I do to deserve this? I told him we needed to unpack some boxes, get them out of the way and not reload the cleared spaces with more. I'm trying to claim areas for their function, ie. the dining room for eating, the ebay rooms for ebay. He just couldn't understand that the huge pile of boxes still on our porch needed a permanent home (my preference at this point would be the garbage can) not a "spot". Perhaps I could have been a little more flexible but I just want it done. We have been moving since the beginning of July. IT IS TIME to be settled, the state fair is coming and I keep telling them we need to be settled to enjoy this. The truth is, we'll be going anyway around, probably more than once but I'm not giving up my hand just yet. They have worked too hard to not treat them so we will go.

Anyway, enough belly aching. There's work to be done.

0 comments so far


The Last Chapter / The Next Chapter

Missed A Page?
Been Awhile - 2005-04-16
Your Stupid - 2005-04-06
The haze - 2005-04-05
YMCA Visit - 2005-03-14
And so I begin - 2005-03-13