Last Chapter
Next Chapter
Today's Story
Table of Contents

Profile
Fans

Leave A Note
Send An Email

Host
Image

Trip from Hell
2004-09-03 / 9:20 a.m.


Okay now that I have had a little sleep let me continue with the ride home from Ohio.

First of all, the mom whose daughter is there is an amazing woman. Some kind of brain tumor or ? has left her right side paralized. She has, and I kid you not, trained her body to walk, type, and react pretty much normally without any feeling. I have no idea how she did it other than sheer will power.

So, her oldest daughter comes to visit. She has just started the depo shot. In fact she has just started having sex 3 months ago period. She's been getting up sick. After a brief argument she went to the store for a pregnancy test basically just to get her mom to shut up and tell her "I told you so." Three pregnancy tests later because mom couldn't believe her eyes and there will be a bundle here in about 7 months. Like she needed this. So now the daughter is telling her she needs to come home and take care of her and pay her bills etc. The mom told her basically that she was old enough to make the other decisions, she has to grow up now and face reality. She loves her and she will support her through her final year at school but she just got flung into adult hood. So the mom, because of the brain surgeries, now has seizures. She had 6 petite mal seizures. She sent her daughter home. Someone had to stay with her to make sure she was alright. OMG did they make the WRONG decision.

I've met "p" once before. That night I had the displeasure of sitting with her for 4 hours before bed time. If you ever thought in your wildest of imaginations that I was a negative annoying person, you apparently haven't met "p". She talks, non stop, and it is ALL negative. So needless to say the 6.5 hour ride home was not looked forward to. I'll skip the events of the evening to bring you the ride home.

She wanted to leave at 4 am. "I'll drive, I'm not tired, let's go, I want to get home, I'll pack my things and yours, Give me the keys, I don't mind" Are you getting the picture? As you read it imagine her saying it without a breath in between and this went on for about 20 minutes. For the record she was the last one up.

So we get on the road about 11:30, we had to get gas and lunch. We stop at BK and one of the girls made a mistake of checking her sandwich for mayo. Stated she didn't like dry sandwiches and basically she was just checking. "P" jumps up and half way runs to the counter to complain there wasn't enough mayo and demands more. She got it, about 8 packs of it.

After lunch we are on the road. I'm teasing the other two ladies that I am going to make it home in 5 hours because since we have gotten in the car I have heard about her boobs, her step son the a*hole, her husbands small (use your imagination), the price of gas (a twenty minute commentary). So we are on the Ohio turnpike. She's anti sex, she's anti gay, she's giving me the run down on the terminology of a homosexual (uniquely identifying it to males only) and God forbid you should correct her. The other two girls are trying to get her to take a nap. They figured her meds would have kicked in and knocked her out. They were wrong. But in the midst of all this, the mom crawls over the seat in back and is desperately trying to lay the seat down so she can sleep (Ford Taurus Wagon). I have her complaining, two butts in my mirror, all the commotion and I missed my exit and didn't realize it.

So I am driving and driving and driving and telling the mom to check the directions and looking around and nothing looks familiar. I have her check the map and the directions again. I check my gas gage and know we should be getting to the point to exit. We see the exit, we see the sign that says New York City 405 miles. OH SHIT.

I ask the guy if 80 turns into 90 at this point. The guy laughs at me and asks where we are going. We missed our exit about 100 miles back (so he says). He gave us directions to catch back up with 90 and we pull through and off the road. We look at the map, we can't find the road he's talking about but we found another one that went straight up. "P" is literally freaking out in the back seat, jumping over the seat, trying to grab a map she doesn't know how to read and is yelling in my ear. It has already been 3 hours of this and I took the opportunity to turn around and tell her to shut the hell up and sit her ass down. I cannot tell you how good that felt. It actually shut her up for about an hour. The road we took dropped us 62 miles from Cleveland so he probably was right about the 100 miles.

Anyway, we were back on the road to home. The final stretch I took a back road. I knew where it was supposed to drop us but I hadn't been on it before. Wouldn't you know the damn gas light came on. Don't think that didn't send her into a tizzy. We came to a four way flashing light. I had all three people telling me to turn different directions. I went straight, that was the way SO told me to go. They all flipped. I finally told the mom to call her hubby and ask him. Thank God he confirmed that I was going in the right direction and in fact the shorter route though I did find out the at least one of the other turns would have gotten us home as well it was just longer. I don't know where the other turn would have taken us.

We get going down this road and it is very windy, sharp curves which I wasn't expecting. Now "P" wants me to take a short cut to her house. It's late, there's no lights, no moon, and no patience on my part. The mom says she hates that back road and saves me from telling "P" that I have had enough detours for one day. We pass her road, she gets mad and doesn't speak the rest of the way. If I knew making her mad would shut her up I would have done it 7 hours ago.

We made it home, road weary and ready to be away from each other. I told the other two women after dropping "P" off that they deserved a sainthood for putting up with her everyday.

The lesson from all this..... I think I will work on not being such a pessimist. Though her low mentality (and no I'm not saying that to be mean) and the combination of all the meds she is on makes her 10 times worse, I still see how constantly being a pessimist can seriously affect the people around you.

So today I am going to try to smile a little more and think a little less.

1 comments so far


The Last Chapter / The Next Chapter

Missed A Page?
Been Awhile - 2005-04-16
Your Stupid - 2005-04-06
The haze - 2005-04-05
YMCA Visit - 2005-03-14
And so I begin - 2005-03-13